BARTIMAEUS AWARD RECIPIENTS (2003-2024)

The Bartimaeus Award is presented to an investigator who has distinguished himself or herself by prolonged substantial contributions to the progress in the field of **The Eye and the Chip** or **The Eye, The Brain & The Auto.**

Cynthia Owsley, Ph.D. (2003)

Department of Ophthalmology School of Medicine University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham, Alabama

Joseph Rizzo, M.D. (2004)

Co-founder, Boston Retinal Implant Project Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Director, Neuro-Ophthalmology Service Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts

Leonard Evans, Ph.D. (2005)

President, Science Serving Society Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Eberhart Zrenner, M.D. (2006)

Chair, Professor of Ophthalmology Center for Ophthalmology, Institute for Ophthalmic Research University of Tübingen Tübingen, Germany

Richard Normann, Ph.D. (2008)

Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering and Ophthalmology Moran Eye Center, University of Utah Salt Lake City, Utah

Joanne Wood, Ph.D. (2009)

Professor, School of Optometry & Vision Science and Institute of Health & Biomedical Innovation Queensland University of Technology Australia

Robert Greenberg, M.D., Ph.D. (2010)

President and CEO Second Sight Medical Products, Inc. Sylmar, California

Mark S. Humayun, M.D., Ph.D. (2010)

Professor of Ophthalmology Biomedical Engineering, Cell, and Neurobiology University of Southern California Los Angeles, California

Gerald McGwin, Ph.D. (2011)

Vice Chairman & Professor of Epidemiology Department of Epidemiology School of Public Health University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham, Alabama

Nigel Lovell, Ph.D. (2012)

Professor University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia

Gregg Suaning, Ph.D. (2012)

Associate Professor University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia

Matthew Rizzo, M.D. (2013)

Professor of Neurology University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa

James Weiland, Ph.D. (2014)

Professor of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering University of Southern California Los Angeles, California

Eli Peli, MSc., O.D. (2015)

Professor of Ophthalmology Schepens ERI, MEE Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts

Gislin Dagnelie, Ph.D. (2016)

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine JHU Lions Vision Center Baltimore, MD

Shelley Fried, Ph.D. (2017)

Associate Professor
Department of Neurosurgery
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts

Ulrich Schiefer, M.D. (2018)

Professor, Aalen University of Applied Sciences Tübingen University Tubingen, Germany

Daniel Palanker, Ph.D. (2019)

Professor of Ophthalmology and Electrical Engineering Stanford University Stanford, California

Philip R. Troyk, Ph.D. (2021)

Professor Department of Biomedical Engineering Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago, Illinois

Timo Tervo, M.D., Ph.D. (2022)

University of Helsinki Finnish Crash Data Institute Helsinki, Finland

Eduardo Fernandez, M.D., Ph.D. (2023)

Professor University Miguel Hernandez Elche, Spain

Bryan Reimer, Ph.D. (2024)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology Boston, Massachusetts